industry news / innovation

Google App inventor

Android Market

Image via Wikipedia

Over the weekend, I helped staff a Mid-America Press Institute workshop called “Managing in the Digital Age.” You can read more about the workshop at the MPI web site.

I usually pick up a couple of useful things at these workshops, but this weekend particularly so. One thing I was turned on to was Google’s App Inventor for Android. It’s a platform to develop apps for the Android market that doesn’t involve so much coding.

I’d encourage you to check it out if your student news outlet doesn’t already have an app in the Android market. It’s relatively easy to learn and quick to set up, and works across computer platforms. We’re hopefully going to be using it in one of my classes to develop an app. More on that later.

Enhanced by Zemanta