industry news

Stuff I've been reading

Photo by <a href=

Photo by GoodImages via Flickr

I’ll be traveling for a few days, so likely won’t be updating much over the Thanksgiving holiday. In the meantime, here are some things I’ve been reading that you might find interesting. I usually do these with a social bookmarking service (Publish2), but this is a little more personal, so here goes:

Post a vulgar comment at work, lose your job: Stltoday social media director Kurt Greenbaum turned over an IP address to a school after a commenter posted a vulgar comment. The reaction has been mostly negative. This is one of those ethical dilemmas you can use as a case study in a class.

Don’t give up on online video yet: Regina McCombs summarizes some of the challenges and opportunities about doing online video at a news site. The jury’s still out, as she says, but that’s no reason to stop producing video.

Top 50 Free Open Courseware Classes for Journalists: Journalism Journeyman links to a list of a lot of tutorials and training modules. I’ve used some of them in classes before, and it’s hit or miss. Try them out and see if they help.

University-Based Reporting Could Keep Journalism Alive: Michael Schudson and Leonard Downie make the case that underpaid students can keep investigative journalism alive. Cheap labor is a great argument for saving a pillar of democracy, guys.

17 Jaw-dropping infographics and data visualization: Sean Blanda’s list of cool ways to look at data.

TypePad Micro: TypePad is a paid platform run on Movable Type blogging software. Micro is a free part of the service that attempts to reach into the waters occupied by Posterous and Tumblr. Check it out.

The shutdown of UWire and its implications for college media: A post I wrote for MediaShift about the closure of the college wire service. (Okay, I’m not actually reading it, but you should)

I’m going to be spending a lot of time over the next few weeks (when I’m not teaching and doing other stuff) looking into online advertising and college media, as the topic seems to come up frequently. I hope to have some results of my exploration to share soon. In the meantime, Happy Thanksgiving!