industry news

Google's Chrome browser – reinventing the wheel

Oh joy, just what we need – another web browser!

UPDATE: Why does this annoy me?

This is just the beginning — Google Chrome is far from done. We’re releasing this beta for Windows to start the broader discussion and hear from you as quickly as possible. We’re hard at work building versions for Mac and Linux too, and will continue to make it even faster and more robust.

Seriously, has Google entered the stage when they have nothing better to do?

4 thoughts on “Google's Chrome browser – reinventing the wheel

  1. I've read through Google's posting on this, and I'm still confused by what, exactly, this is. Just last weekend though, I devoted my column to looking at Google's various side projects which have so far failed to have much impact. I fear this is an another example of the company becoming far too distracted with side projects.

    Also, I seem to recall that Google is the largest financial supported of the Mozilla Foundation which oversees Firefox. So, how does this affect that support? Google says it's going to keep supporting Mozilla. Why do we need 2 open source browsers?

    Here's my column on Google, by the way:

    http://www.mercurynews.com/chris_obrien/ci_102809

  2. I've read through Google's posting on this, and I'm still confused by what, exactly, this is. Just last weekend though, I devoted my column to looking at Google's various side projects which have so far failed to have much impact. I fear this is an another example of the company becoming far too distracted with side projects.

    Also, I seem to recall that Google is the largest financial supported of the Mozilla Foundation which oversees Firefox. So, how does this affect that support? Google says it's going to keep supporting Mozilla. Why do we need 2 open source browsers?

    Here's my column on Google, by the way:

    http://www.mercurynews.com/chris_obrien/ci_102809

  3. I think you have to think critically about Chrome to understand the value of it. Google isn't building "just another browser," they're building a better environment for online applications to run in. A browser is an application, but Chrome could be the "Google OS" everyone has been speculating about for years. They are both called "browsers" because there isn't better terminology to differentiate the two.

Comments are closed.