Carnival of Journalism

Late to the carnival … trying to find the time

carnival

Ryan Sholin asks the following question for this month’s Carnival of Journalism:

What should news organizations stop doing, today, immediately, to make more time for innovation?

Unfortunately, I’m a little bit late to get in on the carnival this month, and there are a LOT of great suggestions that have already rolled into the big tents.

But I would like to narrow the question down a bit for the college audience. I think there are different considerations that should go into the equation for university organizations. Part of the purpose of these organizations, after all, is to train future journalists.

So, for example, while I might counsel a professional newspaper to stop requiring reporters to come into the office and stop having so many meetings about story budgets, I wouldn’t necessarily do the same for a college news outlet. Beginning reporters (mostly volunteers) NEED to meet face-to-face with editors and advisers. Editors need face-to-face time with advisers and those budding young reporters.

So what can a campus news organization do? I’ll throw it open to the readers (and my fellow carnival participants).

I can’t say I have many answers right now (stop e-mailing finished stories to editors in MS Word format, cut down on the amount of AP content), but maybe we’ll get some more soon.